Contact us on +612 8445 2300
For all customer service and order enquiries

Woodslane Online Catalogues

Forest Secrets

Book #3 in the 'Forest' Series
  • ISBN-13: 9780987358561
  • Author: Laing, David
  • Price: AUD $29.99
  • Stock: 0 in stock
  • Availability: This book is temporarily out of stock, order will be despatched as soon as fresh stock is received.
  • Local release date: 10/09/2013
  • Format: Paperback (198mm X 129mm) 192 pages Weight: 200g
  • Categories: Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) [YFC]Interest age: from c 10 years [5AL]

David Laing’s novels, Forest Spirit, Forest Shadows and Forest Secrets, are drawn from his experiences gained teaching Aboriginal children and mixing with their parents and the general bush community. Based on these experiences, he has created a young Aboriginal girl, who finds herself involved in a series of exciting Tasmanian adventures.

A rhotosaurus, a phantom kid, a ghost mountain and a Bushman Extraordinaire, called Reginald Blowhard, all come together to form David Laings latest tale, Forest Secrets, the third book in the trilogy for young adults. The protaginist is a young Aboriginal girl called Jars, who, along with her faithful dog, Shadow and her tearaway cousin, Snook, embark on an adventure neither will forget.

David Laing, a retired teacher and School Principal, is now a full-time published author. His teaching took him to South Australia, the Northern Territory and Tasmania. During that time, in addition to studying Aboriginal Studies 1,2 and 3 at the Adelaide University, he also taught Aboriginal students of various ages—children and adults—and over that time learned a great deal about the Aboriginal culture. This provided him with the background to write his novels. Currently, David lives in Deloraine, Tasmania, with his wife Wendy and dog Jesse. He is now writing a fourth Young Adult novel.    

  1. Introduces a Rhotosaurus into the story-line as well as a ghost mountain and a phantom kid.
  2. The introduction of an Aboriginal language, Pitjatjantjara, in various chapters.
  3. Reginald Blowhard, Bushman Extraordinaire and serial pest is introduced into the kid’s latest adventures.
  4. The differences between acting good or bad and the consequences of each are shown in various scenes.

Google Preview content