COUNTRY: [√] AU | NZ , PHONE: +612 8445 2300 |


    • Product Search / Price & Availability ▼
      • Search by keywords

        Search by BIC...

        Bulk search by ISBN

        All titles

        BIC code:
        BIC qualifier:
        BIC code
        BIC qualifier
        ISBNs (separate by , ; or space ):

        All titles will be shown.

Welcome to Woodslane!

Account holders login Retailers Publishers View order cart

Woodslane Catalogues

The Chronicles of Jack McCool - The Orb of Eternal Fire

Book 6
The clan's secret encampment has been discovered and burnt to the ground by the evil High King Goll. All hope seems lost as Jack, Finn and the clansmen who escaped Goll's clutches desperately try to stay one step ahead of Eireann's wicked ruler by hiding in the Forest of Roann. There, they hatch a plan to rescue their kidnapped friends from the Palace of Tara where they are trapped and find Finn's wife, Ruskalya who has mysteriously disappeared. Not only this but they must help Jack retrieve the sixth gemstone destined for the magical Amulet of Athlone that he wears around his wrist. This last enchanted jewel is all that our school boy hero needs to break the ancient curse that imprisons Finn's mother and keeps Eireann under Goll's rule. Now only a single banshee stands in his way to fulfill his destiny as Prince of Tara but that banshee is Serpentia, the most feared and dangerous of her kind. While Jack prepares to confront his deadly enemies, he hears that his old friend, Ra, is in desperate need of his help. Since last they met, Ra has been sold into slavery and sent from her home in Kemet to ancient Mexico to serve the Aztec queen. Worse still, Jack discovers the queen's sons, fuelled by jealousy, have hatched a dastardly plan for Ra with the aid of the Aztec high priest. Torn between facing the evil pair who have haunted Eireann for so long and rescuing his friend, Jack decides to risk everything - including the success of his final challenge - and begs Finn to join him in one last quest. The sixth and final installment of The Chronicles of Jack McCool, is full of intrigue, mystery and danger as Jack battles to do what's right by his friends and unravel the secrets of the Orb of Eternal Fire that holds the key to Ra's freedom while still struggling to fulfill his destiny; all in the shadow of a fiery volcano that's threatening to explode. Jack's trademark humour and the growing wisdom he's gained from his adventures help him in his efforts but will all his hard work and bravery pay off or will Jack have to make the ultimate sacrifice in order to succeed?
R. E. Devine writes fiction and non-fiction for adults and children alike. The author’s father delighted in spinning bedtime stories featuring the legendary Irish folk hero Finn McCool; stories that mesmerised the young listener – but didn’t do much in getting R.E. to sleep. From those childhood tales, grew this exciting adventure series about Jack McCool, a colourful and quirky modern-day Finn. The author lives in Sydney with three boys who each swear Jack is based on them. But only R.E. and the family kelpie know the truth.
An exciting adventure series packed with mythology, folklore, wondrous destinations and times. – Jack McCool will captivate, thrill and intrigue any young reader - even those who don’t like to read! – With six books in this series, the adventures and quests of Jack and his comrades will thrill and delight for some time to come – Ideal reading for fans of ‘Percy Jackson Series’ and ‘The Kane Chronicles Trilogy’ by Rick Riordan.
Google Preview content